Does Size Really Matter?

While this question is sometimes asked in regard to male nether-region proportions, I am referring to something different. When I see football field-sized American flags during the National Anthem or huge flags flying at car dealerships, I sometimes wonder if bigger is better. Granted, I am all for patriotism and love of country, but I think some of these symbols might be a bit excessive as there is often a fine line between good taste and gaudy. I mean, is the NFL really that patriotic? Maybe they just want more fans and viewers  just like car dealerships just want to sell more cars. I think sometimes the symbol of the American flag can be used for ulterior motives.

Along these same lines, I stopped by the local Golden Corral for a Veteran’s Day meal this past week. I have been to some of these meals in the past, and I often experience mixed feelings. On the one hand, I am grateful for those who have sacrificed to preserve the freedoms currently available in this country. On the other hand, I’m not sure how I feel about a Disabled Veterans Organization member holding the door at the entrance urging vets to refile and maximize their VA disability claims.

My initial thoughts during these types of dining experiences are usually somewhat condescending for some reason. After hearing stories of benefits fraud and those trying to milk the military for as much as possible, I guess I am somewhat jaded to the whole military hero idealism. However, after talking to some of these veterans for a little while, I think my preconceived notions slowly changed to a sincere appreciation for their military service. To hear them reminisce fondly about their service days, recall war stories, and instantly bond over certain shared experiences is truly unique and educational.

I recently read America by Dinesh D’souza. It is enlightening to hear the other side of the story regarding events in American history. When politicians seem to be apologizing for America’s place in the world, it is important to remember this country helped defeat dangerous European powers during the world wars, stopped the spread of Communism in Korea and Vietnam, won the Cold War, and has been involved in the Middle East for some time. The U.S. has stood for democracy, justice, and free markets for a long while, but it seems like many in the mainstream media would prefer a weak, spineless America who plays well with others as its utmost priority. This book basically examines the progressive movement in America over the last few decades, and major arguments for and against different political issues are discussed. D’souza discusses topics such as slavery reparations, Native American rights, anti-colonialism, and leaders of the progressive movement. He also reveals the relationship that both Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton had with Saul Alinsky, the infamous Rules for Radicals author.

In summary, I guess I am a little more skeptical now and no longer blindly assume all flag-waving is purely patriotic. Sadly, it seems like the actions of a few have ruined this ideal, but it really shouldn’t detract from all the great accomplishments and sacrifices of other service members.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Does Size Really Matter?

  1. I’m a peacetime military vet and have similar feelings. The well-meaning “thank you for your service” shouldn’t apply to me. I volunteered, received the GI Bill afterwards and worked hard to make a life for myself. I joined to both gain experience for myself and to be a part of something doing big things. I feel weird about being thanked but know that our culture is now almost trained to say it. For the vets who have experienced the physical and emotional scars of war, I think a sincere “thank you for your sacrifice” is more appropriate – but only if it’s genuine. Last week I spent a few hours by myself at Arlington National Cemetery and I can tell you that beyond being in the presence of someone who has been injured in a war or lost a loved one, I’ve never felt more appreciative towards what has been sacrificed in the name of freedom as I did standing in that sea of tombstones. Thanks for your blog post. Nice to read an introspective viewpoint on the topic. Frank from http://www.letmebefrankwithyou.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I feel like today there is such a broad spectrum of what a person’s military experiences might have involved. I think a vet who saw combat in World War II or the Vietnam War probably had a much different experience than some others, and that probably needs to be taken into consideration. Granted, I think military service to one’s country is probably good no matter what capacity, but I also think individual experiences probably vary quite a bit. And you are correct, those who lost their lives probably deserve the most recognition and remembrance. My military service has also been associated with college education financial aid, so I know the feeling. I think the reason the armed forces are often held in high regard is the sacrifices which are often required. However, the sacrifices in peacetime usually involve being told where to live and what to do while the sacrifices during a war are often much more. Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

