After a brief hiatus from the blogosphere, I am back for a time. Some recent highlights include a stop at Graceland, where I discovered way more people love Elvis than I realized. It seemed that about 90% of the place was akin to an amusement park, and the other 10% was the house. Still, I guess the $50 was probably worth it to experience a part of American music history. I also stopped by Andrew Johnson’s homestead on the drive. I honestly did not remember he was the seventeenth president of the U.S. It sounds like he had a real “up from the bootstraps” ascendency from local tailor to the top elected position in the country. Still, I’m sure replacing get Licoln was no easy task. I guess some of his Reconstruction policies were questionable and led to impeachment. But you can’t please everyone, right? I actually explored some more Civil War history at the Tredegar Iron Works in Richmond, Virginia. Their Civil War Museum was pretty good, and the iron works building really great. By no means am I a Civil War buff, but I definitely enjoyed the history at this site. I guess this visit must have sparked an interest in Civil War history because I then read Gettysburg by Newt Gingrech and William Fortschein. Granted, my mind blanks after Lee, Grant, and Stonewall Jackson, but this book was pretty good. Basically, the Battle of Gettysburg is retold from each side, and the South actually wins in this alternative historical account. The Camel Club by David Baldacchi provided the background entertainment during the long drive. I do enjoy some drama in a book, and this one provided some. Like Tom Clancy with military topics and John Grisham with the law, I can appreciate the intelligence and terrorism drama of the book.

Leave a Reply

