Okinawa Sights

So I’ve been busy experiencing new things here on my island home. I’ve taken some day trips to see new sights. On Memorial Day, I visited a few World War II sites. I went to Hacksaw Ridge, which was recently made famous by the movie. I was surprised by how many buildings and tombs were in that area. From the move, it seemed like it was all grass, but I guess things change. It is also the sight of an old castle as well as a sacred place, so a lot has happened in the area. I did see the movie a few years ago, and it does seem like Desmond Doss was a pretty heroic figure.

I also visited the World War II Japanese Navy Underground Headquarters. It was pretty impressive to see the extensive tunnel system, and it sounds like they dug the tunnels by hand. It was pretty sobering to see the grenade shrapnel marks still in the wall where the Japanese committed suicide.

On a lighter note, I visited Ryuku Mura, the traditional Okinawa village. It was pretty cool to see the Eisa drumming and traditional dancing. The old houses were pretty neat as well. Who knew that people could survive without wireless internet?

The Southeast Botanical Gardens were also cool. It sounds like the founder had quite the green thumb as he grew all the different types of trees and plants outside of their native area. Those Cedars of Lebanon trees are pretty tall.

I also took a snorkeling trip to the Kerama Islands. This Japanese National Park consists of some islands a short boat ride from Okinawa. I saw a turtle as well as lots of fish.

Of course, the sunsets are beautiful here is this tropical paradise. It seems like every evening is a new work of art when the sun sets. Well, that’s my latest round of adventures and photos. Until next time…

Leave a comment